City of Athens

Athens City Hall Administrative Offices
508 East Tyler Street
Athens, Texas 75751
Phone: (903) 675-5131
Fax: (903) 675-7562

Planning & Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission shall function according to the following criteria which establishes membership and operating procedures.

The Zoning Commission shall consist of five (5) members who are resident citizens, taxpayers and qualified voters of the City of Athens. Members shall be nominated for appointment by the Mayor or by a member of the City Council of the City of Athens, each person so nominated must be approved by a simple majority vote of the City Council before becoming a member of the Zoning Commission. No member of the Zoning Commission shall serve more than two (2) consecutive terms.

The Planning and Zoning Commission shall be an advisory body and adjunct to the City Council, and shall make recommendations regarding amendments to the Comprehensive Plan, changes of zoning and zoning to be given to newly annexed areas, and shall make recommendations regarding the approval of plats of subdivisions as may be submitted to it for review and other planning related matters. The Planning and Zoning Commission shall conduct an annual review of the City's Comprehensive Plan and shall be prepared to make recommendations to the City Council as deemed necessary to keep the City's Comprehensive Plan current with changing conditions and trends and with the planning needs of the City. The Planning and Zoning Commission shall also serve in an advisory capacity on any planning related item(s) in the City.

The Zoning Commission meets the third (3rd) Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the conference room of the Development Services Center, 622 S. Prairieville St., Athens, Texas.

Board Members


Name Term
Paul Ingram, Place 5 2016-2018
Brady Autry, Place 4 2016-2018
Steve Barksdale, Place 1 2017-2019
Aaron "Bubba" Smith, Place 2 2016-2018
Kari Wilmeth, Place 3 2017-2019


Members serve two (2) year terms, with a maximum of two (2) terms.
Terms expire January 1.

(For additional information, see Zoning Ordinance)