City of Athens

Athens City Hall Administrative Offices
508 East Tyler Street
Athens, Texas 75751
Phone: (903) 675-5131
Fax: (903) 675-7562

Cultural Resources Commission

Cultural Resources Commission is composed of seven (7) members, all of whom shall be residents of the City of Athens who are not indebted to the City of Athens, with demonstrated expertise in the tourism industry, or a representative of a business that contributes to, or has a direct connection to the City’s tourism industry. The citizen members of the Cultural Resources Commission shall be appointed by the City Council, upon nomination by any member thereof, and shall be appointed for two year terms with the initial terms for Places 1, 3, 5 and 7 expiring on July 31, 2017, and Places 2, 4 and 6 expiring July 31, 2016, to establish two year staggered terms.

The Cultural Resources Commission shall have a presiding Chairman and a Vice Chairman.

The Cultural Resources Commission shall adopt such rules and procedures as it deems best to govern its actions, subject to the general laws of the state, this code and the other Ordinances of the City or other action of the City Council.

The Cultural Resources Commission shall act only in an advisory capacity to the City Council and City Staff related to the promotion of tourism in the City of Athens and expenditure of hotel and motel tax revenues in accordance with Section 351 of the State of Texas Tax Code, including but not limited to, prioritizing projects within the community from eligible organizations requesting funding during the budget process, and projects and activities related to the Department of Tourism during the budget process, and to provide assistance to the Cultural Resources Coordinator as deemed necessary. It shall be the duty of the Cultural Resources Commission, subject to such organization and activities set up as the Cultural Resources Commission may itself determine, within its own organization, to advise the City Staff and City Council concerning the future development and growth of the tourism industry in Athens.

The citizen members of the Cultural Resources Commission shall serve without pay, and the Cultural Resources Commission shall meet for organization immediately after the effective date of this Ordinance. The Cultural Resources Commission shall meet bi-monthly on the first Tuesday of the month, or as deemed necessary, beginning on Tuesday, July 7, 2015.

Board Members

Name/Place   Term
Kelley Townsend/Place 1  2015-2017
Brad Smiley/Place 2    2016-2018
Virginia Reeder/Place 3 2015-2017
Jon Garrett/Place 4   2016-2018
Chet Patel/Place 5  2015-2017
Beth Faulk/Place 6 2016-2018
Deanne Boswell/Place 7 2015-2017