City of Athens

Athens City Hall Administrative Offices
508 East Tyler Street
Athens, Texas 75751
Phone: (903) 675-5131
Fax: (903) 675-7562

Substandard Building Commission

The Building Standards Commission is composed of five (5) members, each of whom shall be a resident of the City of Athens, Texas.

The purpose of the Building Standards Commission is to review existing building and structures that are considered to be substandard and/or dangerous to the community.

The Substandard Building Commission meets on the third (3rd) Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the conference room of the Development Services Center, 622 S. Prairieville St., Athens, Texas. 

Board Members


Name Term       
Nick Rosenberg/Place 1 2017-2019
Tilo Galvan/Place 2 2017-2019
Garrett Hope/Place 3 2016-2018
Cody Craig/Place 4 2016-2018
Billy Murphree/Place 5  2016-2018