City of Athens

Athens City Hall Administrative Offices
508 East Tyler Street
Athens, Texas 75751
Phone: (903) 675-5131
Fax: (903) 675-7562

Athens Police Department

202 West Scott St.
Athens, Texas 75751
Phone: (903) 675-5454
Fax: (903) 677-0780

Chief of Police:  Michael D. Hill, Jr.
Assistant Chief of Police:  R. Rodney Williams, III

Mission Statement

The Athens Police Department, a values-driven law enforcement organization, will protect, serve and respect all citizens of Athens.

Department Values

The primary objective of the Athens Police Department is to provide the most competent and professional law enforcement service possible to the citizens of Athens.  In pursuit of this objective the following department values are utilized:

  ♦   Integrity - We realize that our integrity must be protected at all costs.  Honesty will always
       be our guide.

  ♦   Professionalism - We recognized that our success depends upon the trust of our citizens.
       We are committed to the highest standards within our profession.

  ♦   Loyalty - Our allegiance is first to the community.

  ♦   Courage - We will meet adversity with the recognition of the higher standards for which we
       are accountable.

  ♦  Compassion- Our role is to resolve conflict through impartial enforcement of the law, not
       through imposition of judgment or punishment.

  ♦   Fairness/Equality - We shall endeavor to uphold the spirit of the law, as opposed to merely
       enforcing the letter of the law.

  ♦   Leadership - We understand the importance of community values and are responsive to the
       concerns of all citizens.

  ♦   Teamwork - We shall work together, and with the community, to promote pride in the City,
       this agency and our profession.

About the Department

The Athens Police Department is comprised of twenty-seven sworn Officers and nine civilian employees.  The department is structured into five divisions:

  ♦   Administration:                         Chief of Police and Assistant Chief of Police

  ♦   Criminal Investigation Division:   1 Sergeant, 1 Corporal and 4 Detectives

  ♦   Patrol Division:                         1 Lieutenant, 4 Sergeants, 4 Corporals and 9 Patrol Officers

  ♦   Support Services:                     1 Lieutenant, 5 Dispatchers, 2 Records Personnel and
1 Evidence Technician

  ♦   Animal Control:                        1 Animal Control Officer (non-sworn)