City of Athens

Athens City Hall Administrative Offices
508 East Tyler Street
Athens, Texas 75751
Phone: (903) 675-5131
Fax: (903) 675-7562

 

Municipal Court

City of Athens Municipal Court
501 North Pinkerton St.
Athens, Texas 75751
Phone: (903) 675-8910
Fax: (903) 675-3491

Hours:  Monday thru Friday,
8:00 am to 5:00 pm

Municipal Court Judge:  Steven R. Green

 

Pay your citation ONLINE here: athenstx.municipalonlinepayments.com



Department Purpose:

The Municipal Court processes violations of City Ordinances resulting from citizen complaints, traffic citations and misdemeanor arrests.  The Municipal Court also issues Peddlers, Solicitors and Itinerant Merchant permits.


Departmental Objectives:

   ♦ To maintain accurate permanent records of all citations and payments thereof.
   ♦ To prepare for and administer fair and competent hearings and trials.
   ♦ To keep accurate records of collection of fines.


Mission Statement:

The mission of the Athens Municipal Court is to serve all citizens in a courteous, efficient and professional manner and to provide a forum for justice to ensure that all citizens served by the Athens Municipal Court are treated fairly and equally, without regard to race, sex or religion, while abiding by all applicable guidelines and laws.


Appearance:

A phone call is not considered an appearance. You must appear in person with a valid identification, or by mail on, or before the Court due date.  If appearance is made by mail, it is your responsibility to verify with the the Court Clerk that it has been received.




DRIVING SAFETY COURSE INFORMATION

Requirements for Driving Safety Course:

   ♦ Must not be past the appearance date on your citation

   ♦ Must present a valid Texas Drivers License

   ♦ Must present proof of current Liability Insurance with you as a listed driver

   ♦ Must plead Guilty or No Contest

   ♦ Must pay administrative fee (court cost) in full


You must not have successfully completed a state approved driving safety course within 12 months immediately preceding the date of the alleged offense and are not in the process of taking a driving course for dismissal of another citation.


The following offenses do not qualify for defensive driving:

   ♦ Speeding 25 miles (or more) over the posted limit

   ♦ Passing a school bus

   ♦ Moving violation within a posted construction zone while workers are present

   ♦ Operating a commercial motor vehicle while committing a serious traffic violation

   ♦ Leaving the scene of an accident

   ♦ You have a commercial drivers license (even if you were operating your personal vehicle)


Do NOT sign up for a driving safety course until you have appeared at the Athens Municipal Court and completed the necessary paperwork, paid the required state fees and received permission from the Court to take the driving safety course.

If you fail to comply with the terms of the Driving Safety Course requirements, you will be required to appear for a Show Cause Hearing. Failure to appear for this hearing will result in a conviction of the offense on your driving record, additional fees will be added and a warrant for your arrest will be issued.