City of Athens

Athens City Hall Administrative Offices
508 East Tyler Street
Athens, Texas 75751
Phone: (903) 675-5131
Fax: (903) 675-7562

Civil Service Commission


On May 6, 1995, the qualified voters of the City voted to adopt Chapter 143 of the Texas Government Code, Municipal Civil Service for Firefighters and Police Officers.  The City of Athens Firefighters' and Police Officers' Civil Service Commission consist of three (3) members appointed by the municipality's chief executive and confirmed by the governing body of the municipality. 

The Civil Service Commission meets on an as needed basis.

Board Members

Name Term
Janice Russell 2017-2020
John Trent 2016-2019
John Glover 2015-2018

Members serve staggered three (3) year terms, with term expiring July 5.